Ireland to play Scots and hosts at 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan

You are viewing content from Q North Coast 97.2. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

By Simon Hunter

The draws for the 2019 Rugby World Cup pool stage have been made.

Japan will host the tournament, taking the reigns from 2015 hosts England.

Ireland will be in Pool 5, together with Scotland and hosts Japan, as well as a European qualifier and the play-off winner.

England meanwhile will go head to head with France and Argentina in Pool C.

Wales will take on Australia and Georgia in Pool D.

Defending champions New Zealand go up against South Africa and Italy in Pool B.

The competition begins on the 20th September 2019, with the final being held on 2nd November.

There will be forty pool matches in total, before quarter-finals, semi-finals, a bronze final for third place and the decider.


More from Q Radio Local Sport

Join the Thank Q Club

Sign up for the Thank Q Club and receive exclusive offers, fun competitions and amazing prizes - it's quick and easy to do!

Sign Up Log In

Listen on the go

Download the Q Radio app to keep listening, wherever you are! It's available on Apple and Android devices.

Download from the App Store Download from Google Play