O'Neill names Northern Ireland World Cup Qualifier squad

You are viewing content from Q North Coast 97.2. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

Squad named for first qualifier against the Czech Republic in September

Northern Ireland boss Michael O'Neill has named his squad for the World Cup qualifier with the Czech Republic in Prague.  It's the first squad to be named by O'Neill since Northern Ireland's European Exploits over the summer.  Michael O'Neill told Sky Sports that he hopes to build on the team's European exploits this summer

Burton defender Tom Flanagan and Dundee forward Michael Duffy are the two new faces in the squad.  O'Neill says that both Flannagan and Duffy have made good cases for being involved in the squad.


Defender Michael Smith and Ross County striker Liam Boyce return to the side after they missed out on a place with the Euro 2016 squad.  

One notable absentee however, is forward Will Grigg.  The Wigan man has been left out of the squad as he is about to become a father.



Michael McGovern, Alan Mannus, Trevor Carson


Gareth McAuley, Jonny Evans, Craig Cathcart, Conor McLaughlin Lee Hodson, Michael Smith, Tom Flanagan


Steven Davis, Niall McGinn, Ollie Norwood Corry Evans, Jamie Ward, Shane Ferguson, Stewart Dallas, Paddy McNair, Michael Duffy


Kyle Lafferty, Conor Washington, Liam Boyce, Josh Magennis


More from Q Radio Local Sport

Join the Thank Q Club

Sign up for the Thank Q Club and receive exclusive offers, fun competitions and amazing prizes - it's quick and easy to do!

Sign Up Log In

Listen on the go

Download the Q Radio app to keep listening, wherever you are! It's available on Apple and Android devices.

Download from the App Store Download from Google Play